Race Weekend

So I am a little behind on my blog posts; I’m trying to catch everyone up so here it goes.

The first weekend in May was a big race weekend for Scott and me.  Scott has been doing the Race to the Top for the past few years.  It is a stair race to the top of the Duke Energy building uptown which is over 50 stories tall!!! They had a huge television screen set up so the boys and I got to watch Big One climb up those stairs and cheer him on from the outside.  There was an individual and a team race.  Scott’s team won first place and Scott took 10th place!  We were so proud of him!

Bagels make all morning races much more exciting

Bagels make all morning races much more exciting

The boys screamed at the top of their lungs when they saw Big One on the big screen!

The boys screamed at the top of their lungs when they saw Big One on the big screen!

I think this is the 26th floor

I think this is the 26th floor

and still running up the stairs

and still running up the stairs

This is the top however.  Scott is in the front of the photo somewhat doubled over...way to give it your all Big One :)

This is the top, however. Scott is in the front of the TV screen somewhat doubled over…way to give it your all Big One 🙂

The boys loved watching the firefighters put on all their gear to race to the top. Amazing

The boys loved watching the firefighters put on all their gear to race to the top. Amazing

Yep, can't even get the whole building into the photo

Yep, can’t even get the whole building into the photo

The celebration afterwards

The celebration afterwards

Later that afternoon, Aiden and I went to watch Lindsay in her softball tourney.  We got there at just the right time to hang out with Lindsay a bit before the game started and got to cheer her on through some of her game before heading home for dinner.  So proud of that girl!  Such an athlete with a wonderful coach (my brother, Mike)! They ended up winning her tournament too! Way to go Lindsay!

Let's go 12!

Let’s go 12!

Aunt Cara treated Aiden and Ryan to a slushy - Aiden's first and he loved it...can you tell?!

Aunt Cara treated Aiden and Ryan to a slushy – Aiden’s first and he loved it…can you tell?!

Aiden and Ryan playing in the dirt. True boys :)

Aiden and Ryan playing in the dirt. True boys 🙂

IMG_3529

Playing in the playground on the way out to the car for a hot second

Playing in the playground on the way out to the car for a hot second

Aiden's first selfie with blue lips and all.

Aiden’s first selfie with blue lips and all.

The next morning, I got up bright and early at 4am for my big triathlon of the year.  I have never done a long tri before, only short sprint ones.  So I decided in my 35th year of life that I would give an Olympic Tri a try!  It was so much fun.  I hate open water swims (i.e. in the lake versus in a pool) but this was my first one with a wetsuit and man, do you fly in those things!  Might be my most favorite purchase of the past few years.  Anyhoo, it was a beautiful day for it with perfect weather.  The boys somehow found me on the bike to cheer me on and then again 3 times during the run and they all ran to the finish with me! So sweet!  They were screaming “Go Mama” so all the other fans started screaming “Go Mama” for me too!  So fun!  I finished just under 3 hours which was well under the goal that I had set for myself.  I gave it everything that I had and had no injuries – score! I finished 2nd in my age group.  Needless to say, I was feeling pretty proud of myself and expecting Sports Illustrated to call anytime for my cover shoot until I realized that there were only 4 competitors in my age group.  Talk about taking the wind out of a girls sails.

My medal and my 2nd place prize - a visor. Eat your heart out SI!

My medal and my 2nd place prize – a visor. Eat your heart out SI!

 

One thought on “Race Weekend

Leave a comment