O.N.E.

Court turned one on Friday, August 24, 2012.  I can’t even begin to explain how quickly this year has passed for me.  Since I have to divide my time between Aiden and Court, the first year of Court’s life seems to have gone by so much more quickly than Aiden’s did.  But, I think that I have savored the little things more than I did with Aiden, thinking that this might be our last baby.  Court is just a terrific little man.  He is so happy, rarely cries, and laughs all the time.  He is ultra perceptive and tries to mimic anything you do.  Although he is crazy about balls, banging on drums, and all thing “boy,”, he also still likes to cuddle with his mama before bedtime which just melts my heart.

How bout some one year milestones? He can say a few little words:  “Hi,” “Yay,” and “Uh-oh” but we’re still waiting for that first “Mama” or “Dada.” He can drink from a regular cup but you have to be at the ready or else he’ll also pour it on top of his head.  He’s started  feeding himself with a spoon.  He can stand on his own and take a step or two but still prefers to walk holding onto your finger.  He can crawl faster than a speeding bullet and has the memory of an elephant.  If you put a musical toy somewhere and then don’t visit that room for 3 days, he’ll find that toy as soon as you go back.  He can throw a ball overhead and claps for himself when he thinks he’s impressed you!

We started off his birthday weekend celebration by having a little party for him at baby camp with balloons and muffins for the kids in his class.

The balloons were a huge hit!

Then we headed to Aiden’s favorite restaurant, “Bad Daddy’s,” where Court enjoyed a birthday black bean burger and tried his hand at blowing out a small candle in one of the leftover muffins.

We woke up Saturday morning and Court got to spend some time with Bubba and Pop while Scott and Aiden cheered me on in the Lake Norman Triathlon.  It was a goal of mine to complete a tri after having had both Aiden and Court.  And I made it -woohoo!  I was 6th in my age group and ran a 22 mile 5K at the end of it so I was pretty happy overall. Thanks to Chrisi and Addi Johnson and their friend, Patterson, for cheering me on as well!

Aiden congratulating me after the race.

Then it was time to get Court dressed in his party clothes.

The birthday banner with photos from various points in Court’s first year.

We had “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” theme to the party. Court is always hungry and his class at school is the caterpillars, so it was appropriate. This is just one of my silly decorations 🙂

We had lots of foods from the book – strawberries, pears, apples, cheese, etc.

But then it was time for the cupcakes!

Court didn’t hold back. He took both hands into the cupcake and stuffed them both into his mouth! What a rockstar!!

Then it was time to open his presents!

Lindsay, Ryan, Mark, Elena, and Aiden all helped Court open his wonderful gifts. Everyone was too generous!!

Court’s new tunnel from Mike,Cara,Lindsay, and Ryan seemed to be one of his favorites

Court made some happy music the whole rest of the day!

A quick photo of the Jones family prior to their departure back to Asheville

Thank you very much to all of our family who came to celebrate with us for Court’s big day.  It means the world to us that you came.  And thank you to everyone else who has been part of our “village” to raise Court his past year.  Although it started out a little rougher than I had hoped, Court has given me more love than I could have dreamed.  I truly cannot imagine my life without my Court-man. Happy birthday baby!

One thought on “O.N.E.

Leave a comment